Cité Mosaïque

Between ceramic and contemporary mosaic

Paray-le-Monial is one of the few places dedicated to mosaic. From Paul Charnoz's know-how, Paray-le-Monial has received the title of "City of Mosaic" since 2011 thanks to the variety of activities dedicated to this art.

  • Paon1

"City of Mozaic" was born in 2011, when the three main cultural partners associated in order to create an event dedicated to the mosaic art during the summer.


This partnership has made durable, with the Paul Charnoz Museum and its mosaic tiles collection, the activities of the Contemporary Mosaic Gallery, and the exhibition of a work in summer in the Musée du Hiéron. This work takes part in an annual mosaic exhibition in the city centre.




The City of Mosaic is also the peacock stele in the garden next to the postoffice, the mosaic fresco located in the 19 march square, Mauméjean brothers' fresco in the Colombière chapel but also the Jérôme Gulon's K32 tour.

Cité Mosaïque

De la céramique à la mosaïque contemporaine

Paray-le-Monial est l'un des rares lieux consacrés à la mosaïque. Issu de l'héritage du savoir-faire de Paul Charnoz, depuis 2011 Paray-le-Monial possède le titre de "Cité Mosaïque" grâce aux nombreuses activités proposées autour de cet art.

  • Paon1

Cité mosaïque est née en 2011, quand trois principaux acteurs culturels de la ville se sont associés pour consacrer leur évènement estival à l'art de la mosaïque.

Cet esprit et ce partenariat se sont pérennisés, avec le Musée Paul Charnoz et sa collection de carreaux-mosaïque, les activités de la Maison de la Mosaïque Contemporaine, et la présentation chaque été au Musée du Hiéron d'une oeuvre faisant partie de l'exposition annuelle de mosaïque en centre ville.

Cité Mosaïque c'est aussi, ici et là dans la ville, la stèle-paon au jardin de la poste, la fresque-mosaïque du square du 19 mars, les mosaïques des frères Mauméjean de la chapelle de la Colombière ou encore le Parcours K32 de Jérôme Gulon.